EL Clasico Rivals are Top Contenders for Ballon d’Or 2015


The Top Three contenders for prestigious FIFA Ballon d’Or are revealed which includes Lionel Messi (Argentina and Barcelona), Neymar Jr (Brazil and Barcelona) and Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal and Real Madrid).

Ballon d’Or 2015 Shortlisted Contenders: EL Clasico rivals for World’s Best Footballer

Ballon d'Or 2015
Messi, Neymar and Ronaldo for Ballon d’Or 2015

FIFA’s most prestigious Award for World’s Best Footballer, Ballon d’Or would see EL Clasico rivals i.e. 2 FCB Stars ( Lionel Messi and Neymar) and Real Madrid icon, Cristiano Ronaldo compete to grab the Ballon d’Or for 2015. Messi, Neymar and Ronaldo are short listed players to receive Ballon d’Or 2015 in a Gala to be held in Zurich on 11 January, 2016.

Messi, Neymar and Ronaldo for Ballon d’Or 2015

Lionel Messi gets the final nomination for Ballon d’Or 2015 and is likely to win the title for the 5th time after a gap of 2 years whereas Cristiano Ronaldo would be eyeing his 3rd Ballon d’Or title for 3 consecutive years. Neymar Jr makes to shortlisted players for the first time in his career for his tremendous form with FC Barcelona.

Messi has 44 goals to his name and he also won UEFA and La Liga Best Player Award for the season whereas Ronaldo’s goal tally is just a unit higher to Messi but Barcelona winning most of the title in this period supports Messi’s cause. Barca won La liga 2014-15, UCL 2014-15 and Copa Del Rey which included brilliant efforts from Messi, Neymar and Suarez. Neymar netted 41 goals in all the competition for the season but he is likely to miss the title to his Team mate, Messi.

Luis Suarez, another Barcelona star deserved to make it to the final list but he missed the honour though being close to it. Robert Lewandowski from Bayern Munich was another hot contender with his goal spree for Bayern but he also couldn’t get enough votes to be in the final list.

Ballon d’Or 2015 Award Presentation in Zurich on 11 January, 2016

The FIFA’s honour for world’s best footballer would be given on 11 January at a gala event in Zurich. Coaches and Captains from all the FIFA Affiliated national teams and media presenters selected by FIFA would vote for Ballon d’Or 2015.

An avid reader, blogger and engineering student from Dehradun, India.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here