West Indies Side Hits New Low, Fails Champions Trophy 2017 Qualification


Two time World Cup Winners, West Indies have failed to qualify for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 which is going toย be held in England. This is the first time when West Indian side proved to be a fallible unit when it comes to ICC Champions Trophy.

West Indies Fails to Qualify for ICC Champions Trophy 2017

West Indies to miss ICC Champions Trophy 2017.
West Indies to miss ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

Itโ€™s a shame for world cricket, especially for West Indian Cricket as West Indies side has failed to qualify for the Champions Trophy 2017. West Indies is ranked 9th in the ICC ranking list on September 30, 2015 and hence they lose their spot in teams listed for ICC Champions Trophy 2017.

International Cricket Council (ICC) would be organising Champions Trophy in England in 2017 and the top 8 teams as per ICC rankings on September 30, 2015 have qualified to be the contenders for the title. West Indies were 9th in the rank list and hence they fail to be the part of the event for the first time, which begun in 1998 by ICC.

Bangladesh is rewarded for its tremendous performance lately as they qualify to play the tournament being ranked at 7th spot just before Pakistan. Bangladesh will be playing the tournament after 10 years, as they participated in Champions Trophy in 2006.

Caribbean side has been through some rough patches majorly because of issues with their cricket board and this news is surely going to be a dent in 2 times world championsโ€™ stature.

Indian will be participating as reigning champions and teams like Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, England, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Pakistan would be the other contenders for ICC Champions Trophy in 2017.

Be updated with our latest sporting news.

An avid reader, blogger and engineering student from Dehradun, India.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here